Mature Soul Perceives Others As They Perceive Themselves

Hi Fellow Michael Folk,

So I've been contemplating this off and on for almost 30 years: "The Mature Soul perceives others as they perceive themselves." As opposed to... what? Does this mean that mature souls have a hard time seeing past the public persona that another person projects? Or...what? After all this time, I'm not sure I understand what this statement about mature souls really means.

What think ye?

Stacheman

---

SHEPHERD:

I've scratched my head about that one a lot, too. I think we all do that to some degree. If, for example, someone thinks of himself as being stupid due to heavy self-deprecation, he broadcasts that to others. Others tend to assume that he's the expert on himself and take his word for it. It requires a little work to get past that projection. It's a wonderful thing when we see the gifts in others that they don't yet see themselves--it might help them believe in themselves more.

The mature cycle focuses on the development of empathy. Priests, whose positive pole is compassion, have a head start on that, whereas kings and warriors, oriented in the outer world, come late to it. But the mature cycle is about delving into our inner world and exploring relatedness, so mature souls can feel other people’s issues especially keenly. If they haven't yet gotten past the subjectivity of that and learned to frame their perceptions in a larger context (the speciality of the old soul cycle, although this can be done earlier), they can be pulled into those perceptions and mistake them for reality.

The early Michael channeling established templates and generalizations. Now, we're filling in the subtleties. One can be a mature soul or anything else and not fit the stereotypes.

---

I have also pondered the meaning of the Michael’s statement, "The Mature Soul perceives others as they perceive themselves".